Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Wynand Olivier returns for Bulls vs Cheetahs

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 29 February 2012|

The Bulls have named their Super Rugby team to face the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday with three time Super Rugby winner Wynand Olivier at centre.

Olivier has recovered from shoulder and hand operations and will partner Francois Venter in the midfield in the only change to the run-on side. He will also take over the vice-captain role.

He replaces injured Johann Sadie, who was ruled out for three weeks after injuring a shoulder in the Bulls opening win of the competition last week against the Sharks.

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke admitted that Olivier's return came at just the right time.

"One always wants to have all your first choice players available, especially against an opponent as tough as the Cheetahs. Wynand is the second most experience player in the side, so we are delighted to have him back. "

"We have lost some fine players to injury in the last couple of weeks, so it is great to have one of our international players back and ready for action.

Ludeke included 12 Springboks in his starting line-up.

Bulls captain, Pierre Spies, said of the clash against the Cheetahs:

"There is always a lot to play for in the local derbies and the Cheetahs will no doubt be one of our toughest opponents of the tournament. "

"They have some exciting players, will have massive support for their first home fixture of the season and will be under pressure to get that first win out of the way. We will have to be at our very best to beat them, Spies said.


Zane Kirchner (55), Akona Ndungane (68), Wynand Olivier (87), Francois Venter (1), Bjorn Basson (26), Morne Steyn (90), Francois Hougaard (30), Pierre Spies (73, c), Jacques Potgieter (1), Deon Stegmann (56), Juandre Kruger (1), Flip van der Merwe (35), Werner Kruger (59), Chiliboy Ralepelle (36), Dean Greyling (16).

Replacements: Willie Wepener (41), Frik Kirsten (3), Wilhelm Steenkamp (37), CJ Stander (1), Jano Vermaak (62)*, Louis Fouche (1), JJ Engelbrecht (1).

(*) denotes first Bulls Super Rugby cap

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news